Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday of the Third Week of Easter – The reading is from the Gospel of John 6:44-51.

The Bread of Life by Hermel Alejandre (Philippines)

I am the bread of life – John 6:44-51

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draw him, and I will raise him on the last day. It is written in the prophets:

‘They shall all be taught by God.’

Everyone who listens to my Father and learns from him comes to me. Not that anyone has seen the Father except the one who is from God; he has seen the Father.
Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life.

I am the bread of life.

Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died; this is the bread that comes down from heaven so that one may eat it and not die.

I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.

Taught by God

“It is written in the prophets:
‘They shall all be taught by God.’
Everyone who listens to my Father and learns from him comes to me.” (John 6:45)

All your children shall be taught by the LORD;
great shall be the peace of your children. (Isaiah 54:13)

The New Covenant – (Jeremiah 31:31-34)

See, days are coming—oracle of the LORD—when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah.

It will not be like the covenant I made with their ancestors the day I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt. They broke my covenant, though I was their master—oracle of the LORD.

But this is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after those days—oracle of the LORD. I will place my law within them, and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

They will no longer teach their friends and relatives, “Know the LORD!” Everyone, from least to greatest, shall know me—oracle of the LORD—for I will forgive their iniquity and no longer remember their sin.

The “new covenant” is an occasional prophetic theme. It begins with Hosea. According to Jeremiah,

  1. it lasts forever;
  2. its law (torah) is written in human hearts;
  3. it gives everyone true knowledge about God, making additional instruction (torah) unnecessary.

The Dead Sea Scroll community claimed they were partners in a “new covenant.”

The New Testament presents the death and resurrection of Jesus of Nazareth as inaugurating a new covenant open to anyone who believes and professes faith in Jesus the Christ.

  • Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and said, “Take this and share it among yourselves; for I tell you [that] from this time on I shall not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.”

Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.”

And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which will be shed for you. (Luke 22:20)

In the same way also the cup, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” (1 Cor 11:25)

  • But he finds fault with them and says: “Behold, the days are coming, says the Lord, when I will conclude a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their fathers the day I took them by the hand to lead them forth from the land of Egypt; for they did not stand by my covenant and I ignored them, says the Lord.

But this is the covenant I will establish with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my laws in their minds and I will write them upon their hearts. I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

And they shall not teach, each one his fellow citizen and kinsman, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for all shall know me, from least to greatest.

For I will forgive their evildoing and remember their sins no more.” (Hebrew 8:8–12)

  • I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”. (John 6:51)
  • While they were eating, Jesus took bread, said the blessing, broke it, and giving it to his disciples said, “Take and eat; this is my body.”

Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you, l for this is my blood of the covenant, which will be shed on behalf of many for the forgiveness of sins. (Matthew 26:26–28)

  • Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.”

And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which will be shed for you.k(Luke 22:19-20)

Who has seen God?

  • Not that anyone has seen the Father except the one who is from God; he has seen the Father. (John 6:46)
  • “No one has ever seen God. The only Son, God, who is at the Father’s side, has revealed him. (John 1:18)
  • “I know him, because I am from him, and he sent me.” (John 7:29)
  • “But you cannot see my face, for no one can see me and live.” (Exodus 33:20)

Robert Kochis sings “I Am The Bread Of Life”
Lyrics by Suzanne Toolan

I am the Bread of life,
He who comes to Me shall not hunger,
He who believes in Me shall not thirst.
No one can come to Me
Unless the Father draw him.

And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up on the last day.

The bread that I will give
Is My flesh for the life of the world,
And he who eats of this bread,
He shall live for ever,
He shall live for ever.

And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up on the last day.

Unless you eat
Of the flesh of the Son of Man
And drink of His blood,
And drink of His blood,
You shall not have life within you.

And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up on the last day.

I am the Resurrection,
I am the Life,
He who believes in Me
Even if he die,
He shall live for ever.

And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up on the last day.

Yes, Lord, we believe
That You are the Christ,
The Son of God
Who has come
Into the world.

And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up,
And I will raise him up on the last day.

Enhanced by Zemanta