Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday of the Fourth Week of Easter. The reading is from the Gospel of John 14:1-14.

Last Supper Discourses – John 14:1-14

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also in me.

In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places. If there were not, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?

And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be. Where [I] am going you know the way.”

Thomas said to him, “Master, we do not know where you are going; how can we know the way?”

Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

If you know me, then you will also know my Father. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said to him, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show
us the Father’?

Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works.

Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves.

Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father.

And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.”

  • “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also in me.” (John 14:1)

The phrase “You have faith” in the above verse could also be imperative: “Have faith.”

The following verse is a rare Johannine reference to the parousia – the coming of Christ on Judgement Day. Also called Second Advent, Second Coming.

  • And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be. (John 14:3)

echoes in

  • And now, children, remain in him, so that when he appears we may have confidence and not be put to shame by him at his coming. (1 John 2:28)
  • Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there also will my servant be. The Father will honor whoever serves me. (John 12:26)
  • Father, they are your gift to me. I wish that where I am they also may be with me, that they may see my glory that you gave me, because you loved me before the foundation of the world. (John 17:24)

The phrase “The way” in

  • “Where [I] am going you know the way.” (John 14:4)

is Jesus himself; also a designation of Christianity in the times of the apostles:

  • and asked him for letters to the synagogues in Damascus, that, if he should find any men or women who belonged to the Way, he might bring them back to Jerusalem in chains. (Acts 9:2)
  • But when some in their obstinacy and disbelief disparaged the Way before the assembly, he withdrew and took his disciples with him and began to hold daily discussions in the lecture hall of Tyrannus. (Acts 19:9)
  • About that time a serious disturbance broke out concerning the Way. (Acts 19:23)
  • I persecuted this Way to death, binding both men and women and delivering them to prison. (Acts 22:4)
  • But this I do admit to you, that according to the Way, which they call a sect, I worship the God of our ancestors and I believe everything that is in accordance with the law and written in the prophets. (Acts 24:14)
  • Then Felix, who was accurately informed about the Way, postponed the trial, saying, “When Lysias the commander comes down, I shall decide your case.” (Acts 24:22)

The words “The truth” in the following verse

  • Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6)

bring out the divinely revealed reality of the Father manifested in the person Jesus and his works.

In the following passage Jesus’ origin before Abraham and destiny are developed; the truth will free them from sin.

Jesus and Abraham – John 8:31–47

Jesus then said to those Jews who believed in him,* “If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

They answered him, “We are descendants of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How can you say, ‘You will become free’?”

Jesus answered them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin.

A slave does not remain in a household forever, but a son always remains.

So if a son frees you, then you will truly be free.

I know that you are descendants of Abraham. But you are trying to kill me, because my word has no room among you.

I tell you what I have seen in the Father’s presence; then do what you have heard from the Father.”

They answered and said to him, “Our father is Abraham.”

Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works of Abraham. But now you are trying to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God; Abraham did not do this. You are doing the works of your father!”

[So] they said to him, “We are not illegitimate. We have one Father, God.”

Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and am here; I did not come on my own, but he sent me. Why do you not understand what I am saying? Because you cannot bear to hear my word. You belong to your father the devil and you willingly carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning and does not stand in truth, because there is no truth in him. When he tells a lie, he speaks in character, because he is a liar and the father of lies.

But because I speak the truth, you do not believe me.

Can any of you charge me with sin?

If I am telling the truth, why do you not believe me?

Whoever belongs to God hears the words of God; for this reason you do not listen, because you do not belong to God.”

The possession of truth confers knowledge and liberation from sin

  • “and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

An alternative reading for the following verse,

  • “If you know me, then you will also know my Father. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” (John 14:7)

would be “If you knew me, then you would have known my Father also,” would be a rebuke, as in

  • So they said to him, “Where is your father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” (John 8:19)
  • Jesus cried out and said, “Whoever believes in me believes not only in me but also in the one who sent me, and whoever sees me sees the one who sent me. (John 12:44-45)

Philip is pictured asking for a theophany in the following verse,

  • Philip said to him, “Master, show us the Father,* and that will be enough for us.” (John 14:8)

He must have been picturising something like the following in Exodus,

  • Moses then went up with Aaron, Nadab, Abihu, and seventy elders of Israel, and they beheld the God of Israel. Under his feet there appeared to be sapphire tilework, as clear as the sky itself. (Exodus 24:9-10)
  • Then Moses said, “Please let me see your glory!” (Exodus 33:18)

The following verse

  • Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? (John 14:9)

echoes in

  • No one has ever seen God. The only Son, God, who is at the Father’s side, has revealed him. (John 1:18)
  • “The Father and I are one.” (John 10:30)
  • “and whoever sees me sees the one who sent me.” (John 12:45)
  • in whose case the god of this age has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, so that they may not see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. (2 Corinthians 4:4)
  • He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. (Colossiansl 1:15)
  • who is the refulgence of his glory, the very imprint of his being, When he had accomplished purification from sins, he took his seat at the right hand of the Majesty on high, (Hebrews 1:3)

The following verse

  • Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works. (John 14:10)

echoes in

  • In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. (John 1:1)
  • “If I do not perform my Father’s works, do not believe me; but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may realize [and understand] that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.” (John 10:37–38)
  • “because I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and speak.” (John 12:49)
This verse
  • Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves. (John 14:11)

echoes in

  • “but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may realize [and understand] that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.” (John 10:38)

The following verse

  • Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father. (John 14:12)

has perceptible echo in

  • Jesus answered and said to him, “Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than this.” (John 1:50)
  • For the Father loves his Son and shows him everything that he himself does, and he will show him greater works than these, so that you may be amazed. (John 5:20)

In the following verse Jesus says,

  • And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. (John 14:13)

This is echoed in

  • If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. (John 15:7)
  • It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you. (John 15:16)
  • On that day you will not question me about anything. Amen, amen, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in my name he will give you. Until now you have not asked anything in my name; ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be complete. (John 16:23–24)

Matthew confirms Jesus’ promise:

The Answer to Prayers – Matthew 7:7–11

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.

For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

Which one of you would hand his son a stone when he asks for a loaf of bread, or a snake when he asks for a fish?

If you then, who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good things to those who ask him.

Enhanced by Zemanta